Zodiac Sign Changed with 13th Ophiucus? NASA Too Roped In Now

It was almost five years ago in January 2011 that the global online media went agogue over the 13th Zodiac sign, which proved false and mere a hoax.

Now simiar move tweaked a little is going viral on social media and in Whatsapp saying NASA changed the Zodiac Signs with the 13th one called Ophiuchus and those born in October-November will no longer be Scorpions but come under this new sign.

They have roped in NASA to be on edge and now NASA has issued its rebuttal categorically denying that it is in Zodiac Sign business ever. Those who take their star signs and horoscopes seriously, began to worry and started sending queries to their astrologers.

Otherwise, NASA in its kids page called Space Place, narrates how 3,000 years ago, the ancient Babylonians observed the constellations and made their pre-existing 12-month calendar into the zodiac – the circle of 12 constellations based on the apparent path that the Sun takes across an imagined celestial sphere in an year.

"So, as Earth orbits the Sun, the Sun would appear to pass through each of the 12 parts of the zodiac," Space Place explains. "Since the Babylonians already had a 12-month (lunar) calendar, each month got a slice of the zodiac all to itself."

What was left out of their zodiac sign was the Ophiuchus and the controversy over its inclusion crops up every now and then, last time in January 2011 and this time in September 2016.

Christopher Crockett of Earthsky.org says the position of constellations also keeps changing. "On the June solstice 2,000 years ago, the Sun was sitting almost halfway between Gemini and Cancer… On this year’s June solstice, the Sun will be sitting between Gemini and Taurus. In the year 4609, the June solstice point will pass out of the constellation Taurus and into the constellation Aries."

Despite NASA’s Space Place explanation for kids, rumor-mongering websites including Cosmo and Yahoo News have published the new star sign dates, with a 13th zodiac sign, giving it a final NASA touch to look scietific as below:

Capricorn: Jan 20 – Feb 16
Aquarius: Feb 16 – March 11
Pisces: March 11 – April 18
Aries: April 18 – May 13
Taurus: May 13 – June 21
Gemini: June 21 – July 20
Cancer: July 20 – Aug 10
Leo: Aug 10 – Sept 16
Virgo: Sept 16 – Oct 30
Libra: Oct 30 – Nov 23
Scorpio: Nov 23 – Nov 29
Ophiuchus: Nov 29 – Dec 17
Sagittarius: Dec 17 – Jan 20

Soon, NASA spokesperson Dwayne Brown told Ria Misra at Gizmodo, "We didn’t change any Zodiac signs, we just did the math. The Space Place article was about how astrology is not astronomy, how it was a relic of ancient history, and pointed out the science and math that did come from observations of the night sky."

The page says, "Even according to the Babylonians’ own ancient stories, there were 13 constellations in the zodiac. (Other cultures and traditions have recognized as many as 24 constellations in the zodiac.) So the Babylonians picked one, Ophiuchus, to leave out. Even then, some of the chosen 12 didn’t fit neatly into their assigned slice of the pie and slopped over into the next one."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.