World T20 2016 will be held in India in March-April: ICC

The 2016 World Twenty20 will be played in India from March 11 to April 3, announced the ICC in Dubai on Thursday after its Board meeting.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) approved the dates for its main events through to 2019, following the Board meeting and the 2017 Champions Trophy will be in England between June 1-19.

England will also host the 50-over World Cup in 2019 from May 30 to July 15. While the 2017 Women’s World Cup will be held in England between Aug 4-27, the 2018 Women’s World Twenty20 will be held in the West Indies between Nov 2-25.

For junior cricketers, the Under-19 World Cup will be held in Bangladesh from Jan 22 to Feb 14 in 2016 while the next edition in 2018, to be played in New Zealand, will be held from Jan 12 to Feb 4.

The 2016 ICC World Twenty20 will be the sixth ICC World T20 tournament and Sri Lanka are the defending champions.

In 2016, for the second time, the tournament will feature 16 teams, all ten full members will qualify automatically, and six Associate Members will have to qualify through the 2015 ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier.

The top eight teams in the ICC T20I Championship will make it to the Super 10 stage, unless one of the top eight is an associate in which case the next ranked full member will progress in their place.
The remaining eight teams will have to compete in the group stage, from which two teams advance to the Super 10 stage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.