Who will get Nobel Literature Prize 2014?

With the announcement from the Swedish Academy to go live soon on YouTube about the Nobel Prize for Literature, the betting odds are going high in favour of Kenyan Ngugi wa Thiong’o, who has overtaken Japanese long-time favourite Haruki Murakami.

The Kenyan writer is on top with 7/2 on Ladbrokes, followed by Murakami at 9/2, while Philip Roth, the latest addition to the list with 12/1 is fast moving up in the ladder and may turn out to be the safe choice, going by the tradition of Nobel foundation.

The winner of 2014 Nobel prize in literature will take home 8 million kronor.
Here is the top 10 list ny Ladbrokes:

Ngugi Wa Thiong’o 7/2
Haruki Murakami 9/2
Svetlana Aleksijevitj 6/1
Adonis 10/1
Ismail Kadare 10/1
Patrick Modiano 10/1
Jon Fosse 12/1
Peter Handke 12/1
Philip Roth 12/1
Assia Djebar 14/1.

So far, 106 Nobel Prizes in Literature have been awarded from 1901 onwards and 13 women have been awarded the Literature Prize so far. at the age of 42, Rudyard Kipling was the youngest Literature Laureate ever, best known for "The Jungle Book".

Doris Lessing, was 88 years and was the oldest Literature Laureate ever, when she received the Prize in 2007. Otherwise, 64 is the average age of the Nobel Laureates in Literature.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.