Tri-Series: Morgan ton lifts England to 234 against Australia

Sydney, Jan 16: Skipper Eoin Morgan’s 121 lifted England to 234 all out in the opening match of the One-Day International (ODI) tri-series against Australia at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) on Friday.

Australia bowled with discipline to put the visitors in trouble from the outset.

Left-arm fast bowler Mitchell Starc removed opener Ian Bell (0) and James Taylor (0) early with fellow pacer Pat Cummins inflicting further damager by dismissing the talented Joe Root (5).

Morgan, who replaced Alastair Cook at England’s helm, walked in when the score read 12 for three in 3.4 overs.

Opener Moeen Ali (22) also lost his wicket to James Faulkner before Xavier Doherty made further inroads into the English batting line-up by removing right-hander Ravi Bopara (13).

However, Morgan first stitched a 67-run partnership for the sixth wicket with Jos Buttler (28) before the wicketkeeper offered a catch to David Warner off the bowling of Faulkner.

Even though he was running out of partners, the 28-year-old took his time to settle down before going for expansive shots.

His judicious shot selection saw him score 11 fours and three sixes as he recorded his seventh century. Chris Jordan (17) supported the new skipper with a 66-run partnership for the eighth wicket.

For Australia, Starc emerged as the most successful bowler, picking up four wickets for 42 runs while Faulkner took three for 47. Doherty, Glenn Maxwell and Cummins picked up a wicket each.

Brief Scores: England 234 all out in 47.5 overs (Eoin Morgan 121, Jos Buttler 28; Mitchell Starc 4/42, James Faulkner 3/47) against Australia.(IANS)

Where to Watch Live:

The ODI matches of the tri-series start at 2.20 pm AEDT (8.50 am IST, 3.20 am GMT) and the live TV telecast is available in India on Star Sports 1Star Sports 3 (Hindi) and Star Sports HD1. In addition, Indian fans abroad and online can watch the match’s free live streaming on or via the Starspors Live Pro option.
For those in Australia, the Calrton Mid Tri-Series will be available on Channel 9, while the option to live stream is on Cricket Australia Live or the Cricket Australia Live App. Viewers in the UK can turn to Sky Sports 2 or watch the live stream on Sky Go or Watch Sky Sports.
The Tri-Series matches can be watched live by fans in the USA on Willow TV while the match can also be live streamed on Willow TV Online. Viewers in the Middle East and North Africa can catch it live on OSN or via live streaming online at OSN Play.


Australia: David Warner, Aaron Finch, Shane Watson, Steven Smith, George Bailey (capt), Glenn Maxwell, Brad Haddin, James Faulkner, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Xavier Doherty.

England: Ian Bell, Moeen Ali, James Taylor, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (capt), Jos Buttler, Ravi Bopara, Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Stuart Broad, Steven Finn.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.