Telangana Map Officially Redrawn with 21 More Districts

From 10 to 31, the number of districts in Telangana give a new look of smaller erstwhile divisions showing up as districts, which could be a trend-setter for already established and big states in the country.

Telangana Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao formally inaugurated Siddipet district today while his deputy Chief Minister Mohammed Mahamood Ali inaugurated Jagitial district, created out of existing Karimnagar district. In all, 19 other new districts were inaugurated by the cabinet members today making the administration of 3.5 crore population easier and smooth.

Telangana was carved out of Andhra Pradesh as India’s 29th state on June 2, 2014. Here are the districts made anew in Telanaga now:

Jayashankar district, Jangaon district, both carved out of existing Warangal district, besides Warangal Rural, another district being carved out of existing Warangal. Other new districts inaugurated on Tuesday were include Yadadri, Peddapally, Kamareddy, Medak, Mancherial, Vikarabad, Rajanna, Asifabad, Suryapet, Kothagudem, Nirmal, Wanaparthy, Nagarkurnool, Mahabubabad, Jogulamba and Medchal (Malkajgiri).

The state has also created 25 new revenue divisions, 125 new mandals, four new police commissionerates, 23 new police subdivisions, 28 new circles and 91 police stations. On an average, each district will have a population of 2 lakh to 4 lakh families, except Hyderabad.

It remains to be seen how far the new experiment works in the new state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.