T20 Final: England v West India Match to be a Non-Event?

t20 finals

With India sent out for its no-ball mishap, the Twenty20 ICC World Cup final today between England and West Indies, the winners of the World T20 championship in 2010 and 2012 respectively is likely to remain a non-event.

To be held in Eden Gardens of Kolkata, the World ICC T20 Championship were never expected to reach the finals as India and New Zealand were known favourites in the finals but knocked out now from the race.

Preview: The two players who have changed the course of thier reach to finals are England’s Jason Roy and thrice ‘lucky’ Simmons of West Indies and they remain the most-watched players today. “Jason is an extremely positive player and he does not play for himself,” according to the England skipper, who is banking on him for the win. But West Indies captain Chris Gayle’s century turned the team’s form into stable aggressors.

With weather forecast being a warm Sunday in the range of 35 degree celsius, high humidity may bring in clouds with rain but rain is least expected to dirupt the match though not ruled out entirely. If West Indies wins the toss and decides to chase, it usually wins so the angle cannot be overlooked. If England makes 100 with one or two losses, they stand in stead to win the match.

With both teams in good form and rearing to go on to the grease will give a good show of T20 for those who wish to watch the two teams in final clash as hosts remain seated in the gallery to wish and support one or the other team lest their favourite team is not there.

England skipper Eoin Morgan was optimistic about the pitch when he said, “There is a nice covering of grass, seems to be a good cricket wicket.”

Prediction: West Indies may win the final backed by its skipper’s form and Simmons’ luck.


West Indies: Darren Sammy (captain), Chris Gayle, Johnson Charles, Carlos Brathwaite, Dwayne Bravo, Jason Holder, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn and Jerome Taylor.

England: Eoin Morgan (captain), Jason Roy, Joe Root, Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Sam Billings, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, James Vince and David Willey.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.