Sri Lanka to host Pakistan, 1st Test Match Tomorrow, Who Will Win?

Ahmedabad: Sri Lankan cricket team arrives in Ahmedabad ahead of 2nd ODI match, on Nov.3, 2014. (Photo: IANS)

(Representational Picture) Sri Lankan cricket team arrives in Ahmedabad ahead of 2nd ODI match, on Nov.3, 2014. (Photo: IANS)

India’s neighbour Sri Lanka and Pakistan will clash in their three-match Test series beginning Wednesday at a time when India and Bangladesh are entering the ODI phase after their first test match ended in a draw.

Pakistan will clash with sri Lanka at Galle International stadium tomorrow, Wednesday, June 17 at 10 AM local time. The play can be watched live on ten cricket and PTV Sports in Pakistan and Rupavahini, Sri Lankan TV channel. However, weather may play spoilsport as it did in the opening match between India and Bangladesh. shows that the forecast is grim, since the monsoon is battering the island nationa and the southern peninsula of India. With thunderstorms forecast almost every day during the test match, it may be on and off match for both the teams.

  • Date: Wednesday June 17 to Sunday, June 21.
  • Time: 10 a.m. local (04:30 a.m. GMT)
  • Venue: Galle International Stadium
  • Live stream and TV info: Ten Cricket and PTV Sports (Pakistan), Rupavahini Corporation (Sri Lanka)
  • Weather: Monsoon thunderstorms are forecast every day.

Both the teams are experiencing a transitional phase currently with young players coming in, hungry to strike a difference. And the presence of two veterans in both the teams, Pakistan and Sri Lanka look forward to make a refreshing start of a new era.

Younis Khan of Pakistan and Kumar Sangakkara of Sri Lanka have the right knowledge and experience to guide their young guns through and this is what makes Wednesday’s clash interesting.

Since 2011 these two sides have been meeting each other for an annual Test series. This has helped them learn one another’s style as well as point out the strengths and weaknesses to execute a better match.

Sri Lanka has the services of one of their best spinners, Rangana Herath along with their 37-yer-old left-handed batsman, Kumar Sangakkara.

Reports have recently started to surface of the Sri Lankan star retiring after the Test match against Indian in August; however no confirmation has come yet from his side.

Sangakkara has phenomenal results against Pakistan. In a career that has sprawled over 13 years, the Lankan has scored 2,809 runs in 21 Test matches against Pakistan. The only rival to his feat is Sunil Gavaskar who scored 2,089 runs against Pakistan.

Pakistan’s recent mauling by Bangladesh into test format should be a matter of concern against Sri Lanka. Bangladesh who isn’t worthy enough to be compared with Sri Lanka put up an amazing performance, shaking Pakistan entirely off the grounds.

In a report by NDTV, Sri Lanka’s Coach Marvan Atapattu said that the absence of Saeed Ajmal from Pakistan’s squad will be an advantage for the home side. “Ajmal at his peak gave a lot of batsmen sleepless nights,” he added.

These two teams have played six Test series against each other, but Pakistan has been unable to grab a win against Sri Lanka in the latter’s home since 2006. Therefore, the home support will be a massive advantage for Sri Lanka.

Key players:

Sri Lanka: Kumar Sangakkara is winding down his career, but his experience and skill remain invaluable and crucial whenever Sri Lanka play. He will play a key role with the bat, for sure, but it’s his knowledge and insight that will be most important in this Test series.

Pakistan: Much of this series will center around Sangakkara and Younis Khan. Like Sangakkara, Khan is evergreen, and his experience is worth its weight in gold.


Sri Lanka has Kusal Perera, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Dhammika Prasad, Nuwan Pradeep, T Kaushal, Jehan Mubarak, Kithuruwan Vithanage, Dinesh Chandimal, Kumar Sangakkara, Dimuth Karunaratne, Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kaushal Silva, and Dushmantha Chameera in the team.

Pakistan has Junaid Khan, Ehsan Adil, Imran Khan, Wahab Riaz, Zulfiqar Babar, Yasir Shah, Sarfraz Ahmed, Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Azhar Ali, Shan Masood, Ahmed Shehzad, and Mohammad Hafeez in the team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.