Shiv Sena to give 130 Seats to BJP in Maharashtra

The tussle of seat-sharing for the Maharashtra assembly elections between Bharatiya Janata Party and Shiv Sena has come to an end as Shiv Sena agreed to give 130 seats to BJP on Tuesday.

The new proposal of BJP, offering to contest in 130 seats, which is five seats less from the initial demand (135), in the 288-member Maharashtra assembly seem to be granted by Sena.
While the Sena had set aside 151 seats for itself on Sunday, it is not yet clear that if the Sena will cut its share of seats or the smaller parties of the coalition will have to make the sacrifice.
The formula put forward by Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray of his party contesting 151, BJP-119 and allies 18 seats for the elections to the 288-member state Assembly had rejected by BJP.
The party leaders met to discuss the issue of seat sharing on Tuesday. Sena group leader in assembly Subhash Desai, party spokesperson and Rajya Sabha member Sanjay Raut arrived at the BJP office, Vasant Smriti Bhavan, in Dadar in central Mumbai and met top BJP leaders on the alliance issue.
Apart from State party president Devendra Fadnavis and BJP’s Maharashtra poll in charge Om Mathur, leader of opposition in assembly Eknath Khadse and leader of opposition in council Vinod Tawde also attended the meeting.
Earlier, BJP president Amit Shah had issued categorical instructions to the party’s Maharashtra leaders not to accept anything less than 130 assembly seats from Shiv Sena.
[category-Politics] [tags- BJP, Shiv Sena, Seat Sharing, Maharashtra Poll, Uddhav Thackeray, Amit Shah]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.