Rio Olympics 2016 Opening Ceremony Tonight: Date, Time, Online Livestreaming, TV Info

The world will watch the tradition of Brazilian culture mixed with modern Olympic spirit as it unveils a feast of dance and music events to enthrall athletes and visitors at the Olympics Opening ceremony at Rio de Janeiro’s MaracanĂ£ Stadium on Friday with the Olympic flame reaching the ground to mark the occasion.

The anchors of the opening ceremony include Hollywood director Fernando Meirelles, and Andrucha Waddington and Daniela Thomas, who co-directed the handover segment last Olympics at London in 2012.

Meirelles has vowed to bring in ‘creativity, rhythm and emotion’ in the opening ceremony with more than 6,000 volunteers roped in to rehearse the cultural events for the the last three months.

Once the cultural event unfolds the inauguration of Rio Olympics, the contingents from each country will parade with originators Greece leading the march. Then athletes, with each competing nation following in alphabetical order, will be seen in the parade.

Olympics Opening Ceremony Date, Time and Venue

The opening ceremony will be held at Maracana Stadium in Rio de Janeiro on August 5 at 8pm local time, (August 6, Saturday 04:30 AM in India), while it would be still Friday in the host country. Being an odd timing, not many in India or in the sub-continent will watch Olympics this time.

Rio is 8-and-a-half hours behind IST.


Tickets are still available. About 100,000 tickets have been released in final push to increase Olympics attendance.

Star Sports will broadcast the event live and for more indulgence, switch on BBC One where veterans Hazel Irvine, Mark Chapman, Gabby Logan, Clare Balding and Jason Mohammad will take viewers through the entire action at Rio.


With over 10,000 athletes competing across 28 events, there are 306 sets of medals on offer. In all, 33 venues are in Rio and five venues are in the cities of Sao, Belo Horizonte, Salvador, Brasilia and Manaus.

Medal Predictions:

Betting odds, according to 888sport are as below:

USA are priced at 1/6
China at 4/1
Britain at 33/1
Russia at 60/1
Australia at 66/1
Germany at 66/1
Brazil at 75/1
France at 75/1
Japan at 75/1
Kenya at 75/1
Korea at 100/1
Netherlands at 100/1
Hungary at 150/1
Italy at 150/1
Spain at 150/1
Denmark at 250/1
Poland at 250/1
Sweden at 300/1
Romania at 400/1
Finaland at 750/1
Norway at 750/1


The closing ceremony will take place on Sunday, August 21, at 23:15 in the Maracana.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.