Yoga Guru Baba Ramdev. (IANS)

Pro-BJP Lot Gets Padma Awards

The prestigious Padma awards for the lifelong service to the country will be conferred to veteran BJP leader LK Advani, Baba Ramdev, Sri Sri Ravi Shankar, actors Amitabh Bachchan and Rajinikanth on the Republic Day ceremony on January 26.

In the list of 148 names only two politicians, Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal, got the entry. Whereas from the film industry, names of late actor Pran, Actor Dilip Kumar, lyricist Prasoon Joshi, Salman Khan’s father scriptwriter Salim Khan, were appeared in the list apart from Bachchan.

While the awards were declared, some names that is awarded for the prestigious awards seem to be a topic of discussion among people as well as media.

Baba Ramdev is well known for his mass yoga classes and ayurvedic treatments rather than his contribution to politics. His Patanjali group of institutions is also quite known among people.

Adding a spiritual touch to his business, Ramdev seem to be taking advantage of the faith and spiritual believes of people throuhj which he is building up his business. The Patanjali group has soaps, shampoos, dental care, balms, skin creams, biscuits, ghee, juices, honey, atta, mustard oil, masala, sugar and much more products. His brands got popularity and have achieved success in a very short time.

As per a report of Times of India on Friday, it claims that Patanjali Ayurved, the company that manufactures the products, clocked a turnover of about Rs 1,200 crore in fiscal 2015, up from about Rs 850 crore a year earlier and Rs 450 crore in fiscal 2012.

Patanjali is expected to clock a turnover of Rs 2,000 crore in the current fiscal year with a 67 per cent jump from the previous fiscal.

However, while the official list is likely to be out today or tomorrow, Saina Nehwal, who was stirred up in a controversy over not being nominated for the awards and later got included in the list, has not been awarded yet.

Meanwhile, two scientists from ISRO, S Arunan of MOM, and S K Shivkumar of Chandrayaan will also be felicitated at the ceremony for the inevitable success in India’s history, achieved by the space mission teams in 2014.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.