PM Congratulates T 20 World Cup Team for Blind Cricketers

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has congratulated the Indian Blind cricket team for winning the T20 World Cup held in Bengaluru.

“Delighted that India won the Blind T20 World Cup. Congratulations to the team. India is proud of their accomplishment,” the Prime Minister said.

Sports Minister Vijay Goel said, after success of Para Athletes at Rio Paralympics 2016, Indian team for Blind Cricket has added another chapter of glory in history of Indian Sports by retaining T 20 World Cup.

He said, emphatic victory of India in finals over Pakistan is significant as the visiting side was enjoying unbeatable record in the championship this year till their defeat in finals by India.

After eight victories, India and Pakistan made it to the final held in Bangalore. Pakistan chose to bat first and with Badar Munir’s half-century, made 197 for 9.

India easily chased the target with an aggressive 99 from opener Jayaramaiah and the hosts completed the target with 14 balls to spare. In last year’s championship too, Pakistan was the runners up team.


Pakistan 197 for 8 in 20 overs.

India: 200/1 in 17.4 overs.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.