Nayudamma Award Jointly Given to DRDO Scientist Tessy Thomas, ISRO Director Geeta Varadan

The Nayudamma Award instituted in memory of scientist Dr. Y Nayudamma has been jointly awarded to two women scientists for their contribution in the field of missile research and space science and for the first time it was given jointly to two researchers.

Dr Tessy Thomas of DRDO

Dr Geeta Varadan of ISRO, Hyderabad


Tessy Thomas, known for her research in developing Agni missiles and director of Advanced Systems Laboratory of the Defence Research and Development Organisation, Hyderabad is the one scientist chosen this year for the honour and Geeta Varadan, director of Advanced Data Processing Research Institute of ISRO is the other recipient of the award. She was instrumental in remote sensing project.

Former Head of the National Commission for Protection of Child Rights and Ramon Magsaysay Award recipient Shanta Sinha will present the award at Tenali on March 1, said a statement.

Both recipients Tessy Thomas and Geeta Varadan will deliver the 23rd Dr.Y. Nayudamma Memorial Lecture on- “Make in India – Defence needs and initiatives” and “Remote sensing technology for national needs” respectively.

P. Vishnu Murthy, Founder and Managing Trustee of the Dr. Y. Nayudamma Memorial Trust, said that this was the first time the trust has chosen two eminent women scientists concurrently for the honour. The ward recipients in the past include Dr. V. Shanta of the Adyar Cancer Research Institute, Chennai.

Instituted in 1986, the award is in memory of global leather scientist and former director general of CSIR, Yelavarthy Nayudamma, who was also Vice Chancellor of JNU in early 1980s.

Other distinguished scientists and technocrats who received the award include Sam Pitroda, Jayant Vishnu Narlikar, Lalji Singh, Rajendra Pawar, V. Shanta, V.K. Saraswat, T. Ramasami, A. Sivathanu Pillai and Nori Dattatreyudu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.