Modi’s New Cabinet: Winners and Losers with Portfolios

The expansion of new Union Cabinet witnessed the gains as well as loss of the newly inducted ministers, who shook hands with Modi cabinet on Sunday.

The 44 member cabinet team has gone up to 66 member team, of which 26 are of cabinet rank, 13 Ministers of State with independent charge and 26 ministers of state.

While 21 new faces were added to the cabinet, Manohar Parrikar, JP Nadda, Suresh Prabhu and Birender Singh have sworn-in as ministers. While many of the ministers has replaced and shifted to other portfolios, Suresh Prabhu seems to be the winner of the day.

After resigning from Shiv Sena, which has sidelined him, Prabhu has joined the BJP government on Sunday morning. He was a minister in the first national Democratic Alliance government. However, joining BJP and Modi government has gifted Prabhu the portfolio of Railways, which has been handed by D.V. Sadananda Gowda.

While Former Goa CM Manohar Parrikar has become the Defence Minister of the country on Sunday, Birendra Singh has been given the charge of Rural Development and the Health Ministry has been given to JP Nadda, who is one of the senior BJP leaders.

However, while many of them have been elevated to the new posts, some of the ministers have been shifted from their present portfolios. No ministers with independent charges of state has not yet elevated to cabinet rank.

Former Health Minister Harsh Vardhan seems to be a loser after he has been replaced to Science and Technology and Earth Sciences while Nadda took over the charge of Health Ministry.

Former Railway Minister Sadananda Gowda has been moved to Law and Justice Portfolio. However, after removing from Defence ministry, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley was given another charge to handle, Information and Broadcasting, which was held by Prakash Javadekar. Also, Jaitley will have two members in his team, Jayant Sinha and Olympic shooting medalist and former armyman Rajyavardhan Rathore to assist him in Finance and I and B ministries respectively.

Nitin Gadkari, who has been in charge of Rural Development and Transport, is all set to focus on just Road Transport and Highways and Shipping after he gave up rural development to Birendra Singh. Meanwhile, Ravi Shankar Prasad will now on focus on Communications and Information Technology portfolio, giving up law ministry to Gowda.

Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Bandaru Dattatreya and Mahesh Sharma have been given independent charges of Skill Development & Entrepreneurship, Labour and Employment and Tourism respectively.

Meanwhile, Modi has brought into his ministry the party’s known Muslim face in Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, adding to Najma Heptullah, and are given charges of Minority Affairs. While Shripad Naik lost his charge of Tourism and Culture Ministry and is moved as a minister to Ayush Department with independent charge, Dr Mahesh Sharma gains with Culture and Tourism.

However, the reshuffling of union cabinet is likely to pave way for lightening the burden of ministers who were taking charges of more than one ministry.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.