Maharashtra CM Race: Fadnavis, Tawde, Khadse Frontrunners

Amid the discussion of BJP-Shiv Sena alliance to form the government in Maharashtra, there is a keen observation on the next chief ministerial candidate of the state.

Though there are many names being floated, Devendra fadnavis is expected to be next CM of Maharashtra. Some of the other probable candidates are Vinod Tawde, Eknath Kadhse and also Union Minister Nitin Gadkari.

Devendra Fadnavis

Devendra Fadnavis is the Maharashtra BJP President and is one of the frontrunners of Chief Minister’s post. Began his political career in 1992, Fadnavis has served as the youngest mayor of Nagpur. Fadnavis was the BJP General Secretary in 2010 and has been Member of the Legislative Assembly of Maharashtra, representing Nagpur, since, 1999.

As per reports, there are allegations that Prime Minister Narendra Modi had informed BJP president Amit Shah that he wanted Fadnavis to be the next CM of the state if BJP got a majority.

Though Devendra Fadnavis was reportedly considered the top contender for the post of chief minister of Maharashtra, senior Bharatiya Janata Party’s Nitin Gadkari has also entered the fray on Tuesday. However, though there were allegations that Nitin Gadkari would become the next CM, he has refuted the statement, saying, "I have already announced my decision that I am happy at the Centre. The party will decide who will be the CM."

Vinod Tawde

However, Vinod Tawde is another candidate of CM post in the state. Being a senior leader of BJP, Tawde was the General Secretary for Maharashtra unit of the party, President for Mumbai, All India National Executive Council Member and a key member of Co-ordination Committee of the BJP for the 12th and 13th Lok Sabha Election.

Eknath Kadhse

Eknath Khadse is a prominent leader of BJP and was the former Finance minister. He was the leader of Opposition in Maharashtra Legislative Assembly in 2010. Khadse has also handled irrigation ministry and is known as a prominent leader for farmer’s issue.

However, after being emerged as the largest party in Maharashtra, BJP has yet not declared the Maharashtra CM. BJP had won 122 seats out of 288 assembly seats. Though discussions are going on since Sunday with BJP’s former ally Shiv Sena, the government formation in the state is not yet completed. On Tuesday, Manohar Lal Khattar was appointed as the new Haryana Chief Minister.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.