Chief Minister designate of Delhi Arvind Kejriwal calls on Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, in New Delhi on February 11, 2015.

Kejriwal Makes Sisodia Dy CM, Drops Past Ministers Linked to ‘Power Show Off’

Arvind Kejriwal

Arvind Kejriwal

In keeping with the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) fundamental principles of functioning with humility, all the four minister who brought disrepute in the last cabinet of 49 days will be spared from any ministry this time, according to sources.

Only two of the six ministers who were in the last cabinet found a berth in the current cabinet of Delhi. Kejriwal’s close aide Manish Sosodia who won from Patparganj will be the Deputy Chief Minister this time with the task of revamping the schools and education system in the capital. Last time, he had held education, PWD, urban development and local bodies in his portfolio of ministries.

Another old face is Satyendra Jain, who won the Shakur Basti seat was known for surprise visits and checks on hospitals in the last ministry but restrained from display of power or authority is taken back into the ministry this time.

Former minister Somnath Bharti who led the raids on sex and drug racket in south Delhi did not find a berth after a second thought and even Rakhi Birla, whose car calvade often ran into controversy was sidelined this time.

Even Girish Soni and Saurabh Bhardwaj were not given any ministry this time.

Apart from Sisodia, four other new ministers this time are Asim Ahmed (Matia Mahal), Jitendra Tomar (Trinagar), Gopal Rai (Babarpur) and Sandeep Kumar (Sultanpur). In all, the Delhi government can have six ministers only.

In addition, Ram Niwas Goel from Shahdara will be the Delhi Assembly Speaker in the 70-member House, with 67 of them from AAP. Bandana Kumari from Shalimar Bagh will be the Deputy Speaker and as per the convention, the deputy speaker’s post should have gone to the opposition. This time BJP has only 3 members in the opposition, not even 10 percent of the seats, thus foregoing its claim to either Speaker or Deputy Speaker’s posts.

Arvind Kejriwal will take oath at Ramlila Maidan, where his swearing-in was held last year also and he has invited all in an open invitation via Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.