K.C. Kondaiah Wins Bellary MLC Seat

Bellary MLC KC Kondaiah

Bellary MLC KC Kondaiah

In a major relief to the Congress Party in Karnataka, its veteran leaders such as K.C. Kondaiah won the Bellary MLC set while the BJP rebel and former Union Minister BR Patil Yatnal has won Bijapura district by pushing the BJP to third place, former Congress chief minister N Dharam Singh’s son Vijay Singh has won on Congress ticket from Bidar district.

The Congress has also won Uttara Kannada, Dakshina Kannada, Bangalore Rural, Chitradurga, Dharwad, Bijapura, Raichur districts, while the BJP lost heavily with fewer wins in Bijapura, Dakshina Kannada, Gulbarga, Chikmagalur, Kodagu and Dharwad districts. Dakshina Kannada, Mysore, Bijapura, Dharwad and Belgaum districts elect two members each.

Congress-ruled Karnataka under Chief Minister Siddaramaiah described the victory as a mandate for the Congress, while BJP denied it had faced reversal in the state again. In 25 seats contested, Congress won 13 and BJP won 6 while the JDS secured 4 seats and independents managed two seats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.