ISRO Mars Orbiter Mission Team Selected for 2015 Space Pioneer Award

After Times ranking of mars Mission among the top 10 scientific achievements of the year 2014, Indian government’s laurels and awars notwithstanding, now the team has been named winner of the 2015 Space Pioneer Award in the Science and Engineering category.

The award will be presented at the National Space Society’s 2015 International Space Development Conference (ISDC) to be held in Toronto, Canada from May 20 to May 24, 2015. The team’s head Mylswamy Annadurai is likely to receive the award on behalf of his team.

Mars Orbiter Mission (MOM), originally launched on 5 November 2013 from Sriharikota reached the Mars orbit on 24 September 2014 and the feat of putting the mission in the right orbit was applauded all over the world and it was the first such mission to Mars without any failure.

The Space Pioneer Award, instituted in 1988, recognises new accomplishments in space research and exploration and it is given in 13 categories every year — Corporate, Entrepreneur, Compelling Art, Education, Government Service both Legislative and Non-Legislative, Mass Media, Public Awareness, Scientist/Engineer, Service to the Space Community, Space Development, Special Merit, and Wide Media.

However, not every category is given an award but only three Space Pioneer awards are presented from among these categories. The award consists of a cast globe of the Moon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.