IPL 8 to Have 26 Women Commentators in Box First Time

IPL 2015 to be graced by women commentators

Anjum Chopra, Isa Guha, Lisa Sthaleker and Melanie Jones to join IPL broadcast (BCCI)

The Indian Premier League into its 8th season, has brought to cricket some ground-breaking innovation making even for women fans, who have been showing equal interest in cricket. That is women commentators will join hitherto a male-only box and make it more colourful, hope the organisers.

“To take the involvement of women in the IPL to a new level, the commentary box this season will be graced with four of the finest of former women cricketers from around the world,” said BCCI in a statement.

This year’s commentators include Anjum Chopra, Isa Guha, Lisa Sthaleker and Melanie Jones and 22 others to be part of the 26-member strong commentary team that will bring Pepsi IPL 2015 live to audiences in India and abroad.

Chopra is a former Indian batter and captain and has worked in the capacity of an in-studio expert for many a cricket tournament over the years. Guha, former England fast bowler, has been active in the media with her live commentary stints on radio and TV and as a studio expert.

Sthalekar is an Indian born former Australian all-rounder who has played eight Tests and 125 ODIs along with 54 T20Is. Jones, who hails from Victoria, played five Tests and 61 ODIs for Australia between 1998 and 2003. She also captained Surrey in the English County Championship.
The full list of Pepsi IPL 2015 commentators is given below.

World Feed Commentators List
Aakash Chopra David Lloyd Lisa Sthalekar Russel Arnold
Alan Wilkins H D Ackerman Michael Haysman Sanjay Manjrekar
Anjum Chopra Harsha Bhogle Murali Kartik Scott Styris
Brandon Julian Ian Bishop Melanie Jones Simon Doull
Damien Fleming Isa Guha Mpumelelo Mbangwa Sunil Gavaskar
Daniel Morrison Kepler Wessel Ramiz Raja
Damien Martyn Laxman Sivaramakrishnan Ravi Shastri

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.