RCB is already reckoning its defeat in the hands of Hyderabad without their star captain Virat Kohli and the dangerous AB de Villers in the opening match of the season.

IPL 2017 Today Match: RCB vs Delhi Daredevils Preview, Live Streaming Info, Prediction, Who Will Win?

The Delhi Daredevils will take on injury-struck Royal Cahllengers Bangalore in their first appearance in IPL 2017 today, Saturday, which is the fifth Match in the 10th series. It is being held in M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru and hosts are gearing up for initial points after their defeat in the opening play at Hyderabad.

Match 5, IPL 2017: Delhi Daredevils vs Royal challengers Bangalore

When: Saturday, 8 April 2017, 2000 Hrs IST

Where: M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

Watch live on: SONY Sports TV channel in India and Sky Sport channels 1, 2 and 3 in UK.


RCB is already reckoning its defeat in the hands of Hyderabad without their star captain Virat Kohli and the dangerous AB de Villers in the opening match of the season. Even the top-score opener Chris Gayle’s 32 shows poor batting strength. The bowling too requires revamp as the RCB bowlers persisted with the short delivery theory but taken aback with cleaners by Yuvraj Singh and others. Barring the leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal, who conceded only 22 runs in his four overs, RCB needs to buckle up to get their first points on the board.

The Delhi Daredevils has several world-class quick bowlers and all-rounders, but the injury to Quinton de Kock, who has been ruled out of the entire season, and Shreyas Iyer’s illness, has resulted in weakening of batting resources. With uncertainty surrounding over the availability of Rishabh Pant, DD lacks depth in the batting and may opt for all three overseas all-rounders – Corey Anderson, Carlos Brathwaite and Chris Morris – in the XI.

Chris Gayle has otherwise a good record at Bangalore’s Chinnaswamy Stadium, where he has has scored 1502 runs, has 3 IPL hundreds, and has 9 man of the match awards. All this, from 39 outings at Bangalore.

Chris Gayle against Zaheer Khan may be worth watching today as the latter has the happy knack of dismissing left-hand batsmen early on, and he has had the wood on Gayle previously; in international cricket contests Zaheer has dismissed Gayle on 8 occasions, while in the IPL he has sent Gayle back on three occasions.

The two leg-spinners Amit Mishra and Yuzvendra Chahal from Haryana are known twin on the pitch who had concertedly rised to occasion and particularly in the limited overs formats.


RCB is likely to win today at their home pitch as Delhi Daredevils are still warming up to the IPL quick sand play tricks.


Overall: Matches played – 17, RCB Won – 10, DD Won – 6, No Result – 1
In Bengaluru: Matches played – 7, RCB Won – 3, DD Won – 3, No Result – 1

Yuzvendra Chahal is the highest wicket-taker in IPL matches in Bengaluru, performing better here than any other pitch, with 30 wickets in 21 IPL matches at Bengaluru, as against 27 wickets in 23 matches he has played at other venues.

What Next?

RCB head to Mohali next, for their away fixture against Kings XI Punjab; they will be seen in action on April 10. Delhi Daredevils meanwhile head to Pune for their away fixture against Rising Pune Supergiant, scheduled to be played on April 11.


Royal Challengers Bangalore

Owner: Royal Challengers Sports Private Ltd.
Home Ground: M. Chinnaswamy Stadium
Coach: Daniel Vettori

Virat Kohli (Captain), Shane Watson, Billy Stanlake, Tabraiz Shamsi, Sachin Baby, Harshal Patel, Pawan Negi, Adam Milne,Tymal Mills, Mandeep Singh, Sarfaraz Khan, Kedar Jadhav, Iqbal Abdulla, Travis Head, Chris Gayle, Praveen Dubey, AB De Villiers, Aniket Choudhary, Yuzvendra Chahal, Stuart Binny, Samuel Badree, Avesh Khan, Sreenath Aravind.

Delhi Daredevils

Owner: GMR Sports Pvt Ltd.
Home Ground: Feroz Shah Kotla Ground
Coach: Paddy Upton

Zaheer Khan (Captain), Ankit Bawne, Khaleed Ahmed, Corey Anderson, Murugan Ashwin, Sam Billings, Carlos Brathwaite, Pat Cummins, Quinton de Kock, Shreyas Iyer, Angelo Mathews, CV Milind, Amit Mishra, Mohammed Shami, Chris Morris, Shahbaz Nadeem, Karun Nair, Rishabh Pant, Pratyush Singh, Kagiso Rabada, Navdeep Saini, Sanju Samson, Shashank Singh, Aditya Tare, Jayant Yadav.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.