IPL 2014 Mumbai Indians vs Royal Chalengers Bangalore: Preview, Prediction, Live Score, Other Details

Mumbai Vs royal challengersMumbai Indians, who won their first match in IPL 2014 season over Kings XI Punjab last week will now gear up to clash with Royal Challengers Bangalore in Match 27 on Tuesday at their home front Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Despite being the defenders of IPL 2013 champions, Mumbai Indians had a disastrous tour of the IPL 2014 at the UAE leg, losing all the five matches.

On their return to the home front, the very first outing on Mumbai soil, in front of a vocal home crowd, the team appeared a rejuvenated version of the one that competed in the UAE and overhauled table-toppers KXIP in a big run-chase.

Now that they gained some semblence of confidence, it will take them to new heights and set the wheels rolling. Royal Challengers Bangalore’s winning streak is abruptly stopped back home compared to their stunning performance in their UAE leg.

In their match against the Sunrisers Hyderabad in Bangalore, their home front, their bowlers had to struggle to restrict the visitors to 155. But the run-chase became so difficult that AB de Villiers virtually blew away Dale Steyn to win the match single-handedly. Time: Tuesday, May 6, 2014, 8 pm IST Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

Where to Watch Live: Set Max & Sony Six

IPL 2014 on TV Channels Worldwide:

1 Caribbean IMG
2 Hong Kong PCCW
3 Middle East OSN Network
4 Singapore StarHub
5 Sub-Saharan Africa SuperSport
6 India Set Max & Sony Six
7 Pakistan Geo Super
8 Bangladesh Maasaranga TV
9 Sri Lanka Carlton Sports Network
10 United Kingdom ITV Networks Ltd
11 Canada Rogers Sportsnet
12 United States Willow TV international
13 New Zealand Sky NZ
14 Malaysia Measat (Astro)
15 Papua N.Guinea EMTV


For US viewers, the play starts at 9:30am CST with Willow TV providing Live coverage. US viewers can watch the match live on mobile and internet by clicking here. Live coverage in the UK is on ITV 4. Click here for live streaming link. For Rest of the World, click here to know how to watch the match live.


1. India Internet – GoCricket.com & StarSports.com

2. USA – www.willow.tv

3. Rest of World Internet – GoCricket.com & www.youtube.com/gocricket

4. IPL mobile streaming in India: StarSports.com, nexGTV / GoCricket (apps)

5. IPL mobile stream outside India: youtube.com/gocricket and GoCricket apps.


Preview: Mumbai Indians depend on the skipper Rohit Sharma to get runs but the 27-year-old batsman hasn’t been at his best in the season. His batting form is still uncertain and his woes are multiplyig with the prospect of his ousting from captaincy next year. Rohit Sharma’s runs in three innings out of six proved crucial to take the team near decent levels, but he needs to score runs at a faster rate to win the T20 matches.

The other two reliable batsmen in the MI ranks — Ambati Rayudu and Kieron Pollard — should be capable of playing better. Though virtually routed out of the season amid high expectations, Mumbai Indians, especially, Pollard should repeat his good performance in the last three matches now to bring some relief to the battered team. His 139 runs in the last three innings – at a strike-rate of 154.44 – means the Trinidadian is now MI’s top run-getter. MI’s bowlers — Lasith Malinga (9 wickets) and Zaheer Khan (5 wickets) — have fared far better than their batting line up.

The main worry for the home team is Zaheer’s availability for today’s match after he injured his shoulder in the last game and left the field without completing an over. On the spin bowling front, all hopes are on Harbhajan Singh who took two wickets in the last game.

In the RCB, Chris Gayle’s fitness is still unreliable though his injury did not make an impact on his run-getting abilities in the last two matches he played. The boundaries at the Wankhede Stadium aren’t far and every batsman should know that big shots will help them.

Among the others, skipper Virat Kohli and star batsman AB de Villiers, who played a sensational innings against Sunrisers Hyderabad to bring home victory, will have to save the team. RCB bowlers are balanced with pacer Varun Aaron (10 wickets), Mitchell Starc (9 wickets) and leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal (7 wickets) in their good form and Chahal has been the surprise wicket-gettter for RCB with his amazing leg-spinning. The individual contests in the match will be Virat Kohli taking on Lasith Malinga’s bowling, and Virat Kohli and Yuvraj Singh going up against Harbhajan Singh.

Previous match

Mumbai Indians v Kings XI Punjab: Gautam, Rohit Sharma and Corey Anderson made 30-odd each, but none of them stayed on for long. MI coach John Wright would have preferred the top order making good use of the field restrictions early on; there were 20 dot balls in the first six overs when the field restrictions were in force.

Royal Challengers Bangalore v Sunrisers Hyderabad: RCB coach Allan Donald would appreciate his bowler – Mitchell Starc – for the way he restricted SRH to 155/6 on a good batting track at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium. However, among areas of concern will be the form of the batsmen — Parthiv Patel, Virat Kohli, Rilee Rossouw and Yuvraj Singh, who consumed 44 balls for a total of 31 runs. They will be aware that they cannot afford this and not expect AB de Villiers to rescue them every time.

Previous Meetings Between the Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore in the 14 previous meetings. In matches played at the Wankhede Stadium, RCB have beaten the hosts Mumbai Indians twice in three meetings.

Stats: In five innings in RCB colours against the Mumbai Indians, Chris Gayle has scored 287 runs – which includes scores of 89, 82 and 92 – maintaining a strike rate of 149.48. RCB captains have won only 3 tosses in 14 matches against Mumbai Indians.

Prediction: RCB is destined to win this match despite Mumbai Indians getting maximum cheers at the home front.


Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (C), Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, Yuvraj Singh, Parthiv Patel, Albie Morkel, Mitchell Starc, Ashok Dinda, Ravi Rampaul, Muttiah Muralitharan, Nic Maddinson, Varun Aaron, Vijay, Sachin Rana, Yogesh Takawale, Abu Nechim Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shadab Jakati, Sandeep Warrier, Harshal Patel, Tanmay Mishra.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (C), Lasith Malinga, Kieron Pollard, Harbhajan Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Michael Hussey, Zaheer Khan, Pragyan Ojha, Corey Anderson, Josh Hazlewood, CM Gautam, Aditya Tare, Apoorv Wankhade, Marchant de Lange, Krishmar Santokie, Ben Dunk, Pawan Suyal, Sushant Marathe, Jasprit Bumrah, Shreyas Gopal, Lendl Simmons.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.