IPL 2014 Match 17 CSK vs SRH: Preview, Team News

iplSunrisers Hyderabad skipper Shikhar Dhawan won the toss and opted to bat against Chennai Super Kings in their Indian Premier League (IPL) match at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Sunday.

The Super Kings have named an unchanged squad while Sunrisers have strengthened their bowling by bringing in pacer Ishant Sharma for batsman Naman Ojha.Both teams come into this contest on the back of wins. SRH edged past the Delhi Daredevils in Dubai, while CSK finished off the Mumbai Indians with precision. SRH have two points on the board after three outings and are placed in the bottom half of the table, while CSK are comfortably placed among the top two teams with three wins from four outings.


Until their previous match, against the Delhi Daredevils, the big area of concern for the Sunrisers Hyderabad had been the lack of runs from their top order. However, Shikhar Dhawan, Aaron Finch and David Warner came good in the previous match – and in spectacular fashion too – adding 179 runs together. Given that they are the three biggest names in the batting line-up, it is imperative that they keep at the task of scoring big runs.

Either Brendon McCullum or Dwayne Smith – who open for the Chennai Super Kings – have top-scored for their team in three of the team’s four matches so far this season. Both batsmen can pack a punch in their strokes and aren’t afraid to take the aerial route. Given how quickly they can score runs, and how quickly they can deflate the opposition, the onus will be on them to get the runs.

Chennai Super Kings have a 100 percent record against the Sunrisers Hyderabad having defeated them twice in two matches.


Sunrisers Hyderabad: Aaron Finch, Shikhar Dhawan (captain), David Warner, Lokesh Rahul (wicketkeeper), Darren Sammy, Y Venugopal Rao, Karan Sharma, Dale Steyn, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma.

Chennai Super Kings: Dwayne Smith, Brendan McCullum, Suresh Raina, Faf du Plessis, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain/wicketkeeper), Mithun Manhas, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ben Hilfenhaus, Ishwar Pandey, Mohit Sharma.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.