IPL 2014 KKR vs KXIP Final Match Preview, Live Score, Prediction, Live Streaming Information

IPL 7(ALSO SEE: KKR Wins IPL 2014)

Today’s Pepsi IPL 2014 season final match will witness Kings XI Punjab clash with Kolkata Knight Riders to create cricket record in IPL history with unprecedented consistency that pushed them to the top, while KKR will not let history re-written and chase the trophy at the M. Chinnawamy Stadium in Bangalore at 8 pm IST.

Time: Sunday, June 1, 2014, 8 pm IST

Venue: M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore


Where to Watch Live: Sony Six and Set Max


For NRIs in the United States, the timing of the final match will be 9:30am CST and Willow TV is providing live coverage and those online or on the move can watch it live by clicking HERE.

For India fans in the United Kingdom, the match will be telecast on ITV 4. For online livestreaming of the match, click HERE and for those in the rest of the world, online live streaming will be available HERE .


1. India Internet – GoCricket.com & StarSports.com
2. USA – www.willow.tv
3. Rest of World Internet – GoCricket.com&www.youtube.com/gocricket
4. IPL mobile streaming in India: StarSports.com, nexGTV / GoCricket (apps)
5. IPL mobile stream outside India: 
youtube.com/gocricketand GoCricket apps.


More than one-and-a-half month’s grueling has undergone to reach today’s spectacle match between KXIP versus KKR in the grand finale of Pepsi IPL 7 season to win the trophy finally.

The Kolkata Knight Riders, from a poor record of winning only two matches out of the five played in the UAE leg of Pepsi IPL 2014, reached the finals today. Even on Indian leg, Gautam Gambhir’s men lost their first two matches but backed by a strong management with Preity Zinta at the forefront, they turned the table around and barged into the Playoffs, with a winning streak of 7 consecutive wins and made history defeating table-toppers Kings XI Punjab.

Kings XI Punjab, a model team to play throughout the season of Pepsi IPL 2014, emerged with the most wins and cruised to the top and became the first cool team to seal a place in the Playoffs. However, a defeat at the hands of KKR in Qualifier 1 had taught a lesson to repair the damage in the match against the Chennai Super Kings – in Qualifier 2. Asked to bat first, KXIP’s Virender Sehwag made a magnificent century and the team posted 226 runs, unnerving the opponents who fought back in vain to cross the 200-mark.

The winner in this match will take home the prestigious trophy and set the trend for the next year IPL 2015 season.


In high-stakes matches like this one, the pressure will be on the men in form to deliver the goods. Robin Uthappa has had a dream run since the tournament has returned to India. Everything about him has been impressive; he has shown the inclination to play the long innings, and is reaping the rewards of playing with the right technique and using orthodox methods to score runs. The 28-year-old –likely to finish with the Orange Cap as a reward for his efforts through the season – has scored at least 40 in each of his last 10 innings; KKR will be well served if he can get one more such knock in Bengaluru.

Gautam Gambhir is another important player in the KKR scheme of things; apart from runs at the top, Gambhir’s decision-making skills too need to be spot on. On the bowling front, one doesn’t need to look beyond Sunil Narine, who would walk into any World XI where Twenty20 cricket is concerned.

All eyes will be on Virender Sehwag after the damage he caused (and the joy he brought to the spectators) at Wankhede Stadium on Friday. Speaking to IPLT20.com after that match-winning knock, the 35-year-old said that he was yet to play his best cricket and sounded a warning that he was hoping to deliver his marquee performance in Bangalore.

KXIP will rest their hopes on Glenn Maxwell and David Miller (who were at the forefront of the team’s charge at the start of the season) too. On the bowling front, KXIP will pin their hopes on Sandeep Sharma and Mitchell Johnson, and hope the pair can push their opponents on the back foot from ball-one.

Previous Meetings:

The Kings XI Punjab and the Kolkata Knight Riders have so far played 14 matches in the IPL and the Kings have a clear edge with 8 wins in all.

Of the 3 meetings between the KXIP and KKR, KXIP won the first match in Abu Dhabi, KKR won the next match in Cuttack. In fact, KKR got the better of KXIP for the second time winning the first Playoff match to reach the Final.


Except the Rajasthan Royals in the inaugural 2008 season, no team that has topped the table at the end of the league stage has gone on to win the IPL trophy.

Kings XI Punjab have picked up more wickets than any other team with 106, to be precise.

Kolkata Knight Riders and Kings XI Punjab share the record for the longest run of consecutive wins as KXIP has won 8 consecutive matches including the last 3 matches of Pepsi IPL 2013 and their first 5 matches this year. KKR too have won their most recent 8 matches.

Gautam Gambhir is the second-most experienced captain in Twenty20 cricket with 95 T20 matches, behind MS Dhoni.

KKR’s spinners this season took away 43 wickets.

Prediction: Kings XI Punjab may lift the trophy as a token of their superb consistency and prowess.


Kings XI Punjab: George Bailey (C), David Miller, Manan Vohra, Virender Sehwag, Mitchell Johnson, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shaun Marsh, Wriddhaman Saha, Thisara Perera, Glenn Maxwell, Rishi Dhawan, Anureet Singh, Sandeep Sharma, Akshar Patel, Beuran Hendricks, Karanveer Singh, and Murali Kartik.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (captain), Robin Uthappa (wk), Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Shakib Al Hasan, Suryakumar Yadav, Piyush Chawla, Pat Cummins, Umesh Yadav, Sunil Narine, Jacques Kallis, Andre Russell, Morne Morkel, Chris Lynn, Debabrata Das and Veer Pratap Singh.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.