India vs Bangladesh 1st ODI tomorrow, both teams look to focus after a rain ruined Test

india vs bangladeshA lot was expected from both India and Bangladesh ahead of the one-off Test series. However, a soggy weather that hardly saw a day without interruptions by rain stole away the entire thunder. Now hosts Bangladesh and visitors India are gearing up for the first of the three ODIs that will be held tomorrow in Mirpur.

Bangladesh and India commence a three-match one-day international series in Mirpur as both sides look to shake off the only recent Test that was ruined by rain.


Venue: Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur

Date: Thursday, June 18

Timing: 2.20 pm IST, 3.00 pm local time and 10.00 am BST (British Standard Time).

Weather: Mirpur is in for some scattered thunderstorms, with temperatures peaking at 33 degrees Celsius.

Where to watch: Viewers in India and Bangladesh can watch the match live on Star Sports. Those who are in Pakistan and United Arab Emirates (UAE) the match will be available on PTV Sports. The South African viewers can watch the match live on SuperSport. For live streaming, check


The disappointing one-off Test that India tied Bangladesh, saw rain taking away as many as 250 overs. However, players who were expected to shine didn’t fail to do so.

Shikhar Dhawan and Murali Vijay mesmerized everyone with their fantastic 323 run partnership with each scoring 173 and 150 runs, respectively. Ajinkya Rahane also put up a good show, missing out on a fourth test century while being just two runs (98) shy of it.

The biggest stars of Indian team were Ravichandran Ashwin and Harbhajan Singh. While Ashwin upped his game to a great level, getting an impressive figure of 5/87 ‘Bhaji’ (as Harbhajan Singh is known to his fans) touched the record book by surpassing Pakistan’s Wasim Akram’s record of being the 9th highest wicket takers of all-time.

The hosts also produced a good show with all-rounder Shakib-al-Hasan taking 4/105.

As the teams’ focus has shifted to ODIs Team Blue has got back their ‘Captain Cool’ (MS Dhoni) with them along with Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Bangladesh will continue to resort their hopes on Shakib-al-Hasan besides Tanim Iqbal who is in good form can be a danger for Dhoni’s side. Litton Das and Mustafizur Rahman have been included in the host’s team squad, following injury concerns for Abul Hasan and Mahmudullah.

The ODIs don’t look to be spared from the raucous monsoon season of Bangladesh. Weather reports say that light rain along with thunders can well be expected. And this brings back the question that we discussed in our earlier article that it might have been a wrong decision by India to go on tour to Bangladesh at this time.


Bangladesh will definitely be going for India, but Team Blue has more experience and skilled players along with advantages of winning in sub-continental conditions. Therefore, India looks to have a lot edge over the home team to win the first ODI.


Bangladesh team consists of Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain, Rony Talukdar, Mustafizur Rahman, and Litton Das.

India,  with its captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has Ravichandran Ashwin, Stuart Binny, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Dhawal Kulkarni, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Axar Patel, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Mohit Sharma, Rohit Sharma, and aUmesh Yadav in the team.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.