India Creates History after 15 Years Winning Junior Hockey World Cup

Related imageBringing to memory the Classic win in 2001, India celebrated winning the FIH Junior Hockey World Cup clinching a 2-1 victory against Belgium in the final.

Last time India won the cup in Hobart in 2001 with the likes of Gagan Ajit Singh and Yugraj Singh then. This time India scored two field goals in the first half through Gurjant Singh (8th minute) and Simranjeet Singh (22nd) to emerge as winners.

The team coached by Harendra Singh was cheered throughout by home crowd, revived the fortunes of the game in a nation, which has boasted of a rich hockey tradition way back 50 years ago.

The other team Belgium scored a late consolation goal through Fabrice van Bockrijck’s penalty corner conversion in the 70th minute.

Earlier, six-time champions and title holders Germany had been relegated to a bronze defeating Australia 3-0 in the third-fourth place play-off match.

Congratulating the team, Minister of Sports Vijay Goel has commended their splendid win and said India have become the first nation to win the hockey junior World Cup at home and the title is significant as it came after a gap of 15 years for the second time.

He said the joyous moment of glory is more enjoyable as it came after Senior Indian Men and Women Hockey Teams lifted the Asian Champions Trophy earlier in the year. Vijay Goel said the best finish in Hockey in recent times reflects the hard work, dedication, discipline and determination of our players to succeed at the International Sporting arena.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.