IIFA 2014: ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’ tops with 11 awards; Full List

bmbBollywood’s foreign extravaganza IIFA 2014 (International Indian Film Academy Awards 2014) finale was held on Saturday night in Tampa Bay, Florida, US with celebrities charming the audience and enthralling them with their dance and show.

Hollywood actor John Travolta being a special recipient of an award at the show, that has come to the United States for the first time in its 15 year history. Bollywood celebrities like Shatrughan Sinha, who is being awarded Life-Time Achievement Award and his daughter Sonakshi Sinha, besides Deepika Padukone, Hrithik Roshan, Madhuri Dixit and a line up Bollywood’s Who’s Who were there in the show.

Among those missing are obviously the Bachchan family and Shahrukh Khan, otherwise the Green Carpet was rolled out for Bipasha Basu, Deepika Padukone, Madhuri Dixit Nene, Yami Gautam, Sridevi, Parineeti Chopra, Malaika Arora, Gauhar Khan, Kareena Kapoor Khan, Sonakshi Sinha, Dia Mirza, Hritik Roshan, Govinda, Anil Kapoor, Shatrugan Sinha, Sonu Sood, Anupam Kher, Vir Das, Bonny Kapoor, Rakesh Om Prakash Mehra, Mika, Shankar Ehsaan Loy and others.

On stage, the masters of ceremony Saif Ali Khan and Vir Das captivated audiences with their wit and impish humour. The evening kicked off with a captivating performance by Farhan Akhtar who sang some of hits – Dil Chahta Hai, Senorita and Zinda. Bipasha Basu  entertained the audience on Lat Lag Gayee, Hungama Ho Gaya, Baby Doll, Lungi dance, among others.

Sonakshi Sinha performed on Har Kisi Ko Nahi Milta, Party all night, Sari Ke Fall Sa and Gandi baat. The sexy Kareena Kapoor Khan engaged the audience in a special act as well on Aayiye Meherban, Baho Me Chale Aao, Babuji Dheere Chalna and Yeh Mera Dil.

World renowned musician, Ustaad Rahat Fateh Ali Khan stirred the audiences with his soulful music. Singer Mika’s engaging performance brought the audience to their feet onDummadam Mastakalander, Agal Bagal, Sawaan, Subah Hone na de.  Pritham set the stage ablaze along with the Nashville Blue Grass Musicians, Adit Singh Sharma, Papon and others.

The 4-day show was kicked off on Wednesday with an outdoor concert and dance festival at Curtis Hixon Park and on Thursday night the IIFA Rocks fashion show, an exclusive invite-only event adorned the green carpet event.

Otherwise, awards were already announced and Aashique 2 wins the Best Lyrics award, “Bhaag Milkha Bhaag” bags nine technical awards, and Deepika Padukone named the Best entertainer of the year.

NO live telecast in India as Star Plus, which has bought the media rights will only show it sometime in June when the whole enthusiasm dies out. Otheriwse, those in the US can watch it live on paid cable.

(For live updates on facebook click HERE.) For remarks and tweets, click HERE.

Complete list of winners:

Best Performance in a Leading Role (Female) – Deepika Padukone (Chennai Express)

Best Performance in a Leading Role (Male) – Farhan Akhtar for ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’

Best Performance in a Supporting Role (Female) – Divya Dutta for ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’
Best Performance in a Leading Role (Male) – Aditya Roy Kapur for “Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani’
Best Debut (Male) – Dhanush for ‘Raanjhanaa’.
Best Director – Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra for ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’.
Best performance in a comic role Arshad Warsi for ‘Jolly L.L.B’
Best performance in a negative role – Rishi Kapoor.
Best Playback Singer (Female) – Shreya Ghoshal for Sun Raha Hai Na Tu (Aashiqui 2)
Best Playback Singer (Male) – Arijit Singh for Tum Hi Ho (Aashiqui 2)
‘Outstanding Contribution to Indian Cinema’ – Shatrughan Sinha.

In all, ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’ walked away with nine technical awards at the IIFA:
Best  Cinematography – Binod Pradhan
Best Screenplay and Best Dialogue – Prasoon Joshi
Best Editing – P S Bharti
Best Sound Design – Nakul Kamte
Best Sound Mixing – Pranav Shukla
Best Background Score – Shankar-Ehsaan- Loy
Best Costume Designing – Dolly Ahluwalia
Best Make-Up – Vikram Gaikwad

‘Krrish 3′ bagged two awards:
Best Action (Sham Kaushal & Tony Ching Siu Tung)
Best Special Effects (Visuals) – Keitan Yadav & Haresh Hingorani – Red Chillies VFX)

‘Chennai Express’ has bagged two awards:
Best Song Recording – Vinod Verma for Lungi Dance
Best Sound Mixing – Anup Dev

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.