Haryana Election: Likely Chief Ministerial Candidates of BJP

After the historic win in Haryana by securing a clear majority of its own for the first time, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has not yet decided on the the chief ministerial candidate though it has shortlisted some leaders.

The probable candidates said to be for the chief ministerial post in Haryana by the sources are state unit chief Rambilas Sharma, BJP legislature party leader Anil Vij and Captain Abhimanyu Singh.

However, according to reports, BJP national secretary and co-in-charge of Haryana affairs, Anil Jain, said, “It is the elected MLAs and BJP Parliamentary Board which will take a call on who will be the chief ministerial candidate. No such decision has been taken yet and the names being floated are being done by some vested interests.”





Anil Vij


Captain Abhimanyu


Ram Vilas


Sushma Swaraj
















Ram Bilas Sharma

The BJP state President Ram Bilas Sharma is one of the most possible candidates in Haryana. Sharma had contested from Mahendergarh seat during the poll assembly. He had been the health minister in Bansi Lal government. For four consecutive terms in 1982, 1987, 1991, 1996, Sharma had been the MLA from Mahendergarh seat.

Anil Vij

Anil Vij, who has won from the Ambala Cantt Assembly seat, is another among the frontrunners to become the chief minister of Haryana as the BJP prepares to form government in the state. Being known as BJP’s young face, he is the BJP Legislature party leader. Vij has said that he will dohis best if he becomes the CM. According to a news report, after becoming the first winner from the state, Vij said “if BJP makes me Haryana CM, I will try to do his best.”

Captain Abhimanyu Singh Sindhu

Capt Abhimanyu Singh Sindhu, who has a political career of 16 years, was the general secretary of Haryana BJP unit in 2005 and in 2010 and had been elevated to the post of national BJP secretary and spokesman. He was a former army officer and belongs to Jat community which plays a major role in governing the state’s politics. Being contested for Haryana assembly polls from the Narnaund seat of the Hisar district, Abhimanyu had expressed his confidence on winning the polls, saying, “You can see the number of people that have come for Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s rally. This shows the support that the people are giving to the BJP. There is no way that we are not winning the elections.”

Meanwhile, the names of Union Minister Sushma Swaraj and party leader Krishnapal Gurjar are also being floated for the post.

Sushma Swaraj

Union Minister Sushma Swaraj hails from Ambala Cantt. Defeating the four times CM Bansi Lal, Swaraj became the MLA of Ambala Cantt in 1977. She became the cabinet minister in 1987. She was also the BJP president in 1979. She was not a contestant in the poll assembly in Haryana.

Krishnapal Gurjar

The Union minister in Modi government Krishanapal Gujjar has begun his political career in 1994 by winning the election to the municipal corporation. He was the transport minister in Bansi Lal’s government in 1996. Being the BJP state president in 2009, he has won as MLA from Tigaon constituency. He has defeated four-time Congress MP in Faridabad LS election with a record 4.6 lakh margin.

One comment

  1. Amongst all Sushma ji would be the best candidate for CM post in Haryana

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.