H.S. Bramha taking charge as the Chief Election Commissioner of India (CEC), in New Delhi on January 16, 2015.(PIB Photo)

Harishankar Bramha takes over as new Chief Election Commissioner

Harishankar Bramha has assumed charge as the 19th Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) succeeding V.S. Sampath in New Delhi on Friday. Bramha has served as Election Commissioner since 25th August, 2010.

An IAS officer of 1975 batch (AP Cadre), Bramha served as Secretary in Ministry of Power before joining the Election Commission. He has held various senior level posts in the Government of India and State Government prior to the present posting.

Briefing the media, Bramha announced that on 25th January, which is also National Voters’ Day, the ECI will launch nationwide Electronic Roll Management System (ERMS), which will provide country wide voters list and enable voters to see their details.
Bramha also said that the Commission will prepare the ground work for extending the voting rights to the NRI voters following the directions of the Supreme Court.

“My first priority and mission objective is to ensure that we conduct the election to the Delhi Legislative Assembly in absolutely free and fair manner. Our long term goal at the Election Commission of India, which I visualize, is to ‘deliver excellence’,” he said.

“Secondly, to improve quality, transparency and speed, it will be my personal endeavor to use the latest technology both internet and digital technology to improve the quality of our election management, especially in voting,” he said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.