Government Unveils 98 Smart Cities: Check List Here

The Union Minister of Urban Development Venkaiah Naidu unveiled the list of 98 cities of the much talked about Smart Cities project, which means more funds for the best cities selected after a challenge by people based on merits.

The minister on Thursday released the list of 98 cities, from which Uttar Pradesh got maximum number of 13 cities, with 12 in Tamil Nadu, standing in the second position.

Maharashtra got 10, while 7 from Madhya Pradesh, 3 from Bihar and Andhra Pradesh have been included in the smart cities list.

Other than Jammu Kashmir, all the states have finalised the names of proposed Smart Cities through competition. The criteria and guidelines for competition was launched by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi in June 25.

The center has allotted Rs 48,000 crore for development of these smart cities.

For five years each smart city will get Rs 100 crore every year and the core infrastructure elements in a smart city would include:

#Water supply,
#Electricity supply,
#Sanitation, including solid waste management,
#Efficient urban mobility and public transport,
#Affordable housing, especially for the poor,
#Robust IT connectivity and digitalization,
#Good governance, especially e-Governance and citizen participation,
#Sustainable environment,
#Safety and security of citizens, particularly women, children and the elderly.
#Health and education.

The list:

State/ UT                                                                         

Andaman and Nicobar Islands                                           1 Port Blair
Andhra Pradesh                                                                     3 Vishakhapatnam, Tirupati, Kakinada
Arunachal Pradesh                                                                1 Pasighat
Assam                                                                                      1 Guwahati
Bihar                                                                                        3 Muzaffarpur, Bhagalpur, Biharsharif
Chandigarh                                                                             1
Chhattisgarh                                                                           2 Raipur, Bilaspur
Dadra and Nagar Haveli                                                      1 Silvassa
Daman and Diu                                                                     1 Diu
Delhi                                                                                        1 NDMC
Goa                                                                                           1 Panaji
Gujarat                                                        6 Gandhinagar, Ahmedabad, Surat, Vadodara, Rajkot, Dahod
Haryana                                                                                  2 Karnal Faridabad
Himachal Pradesh                                                                1 Dharamshala
Jharkhand                                                                              1 Ranchi
Karnataka                  6 Mangaluru, Belagavi, Shivamogga, Hubballi-Dharwad, Tumakuru, Davanegere
Kerala                                                                                      1 Kochi
Lakshadweep                                                                         1 Kavarrati
Madhya Pradesh                         7 Bhopal, Indore, Jabalpur, Gwalior, Sagar, Satna, Ujjain
Maharashtra                                                                          10 Navi Mumbai, Nashik,
Manipur                                                                                  1 Imphal
Meghalaya                                                                               1 Shillong
Mizoram                                                                                  1 Aizawl
Nagaland                                                                                 1 Kohima
Odisha                                                                                      2 Bhubaneshwar, Raurkela
Puducherry                                                                             1 Oulgaret
Punjab                                                                                      3 Ludhiana, Jalandhar, Amritsar
Rajasthan                                                                                4 Jaipur, Udaipur, Kota, Ajmer
Sikkim                                                                                      1 Namchi
Tamil Nadu                                                                             12 Tiruchirapalli
Telangana                                                                                2 Greater Hyderabad, Greater Warangal
Tripura                                                                                     1 Agartala
Uttar Pradesh                                                                         13 Moradabad, Aligarh, Saharanpur, Bareilly, Jhansi, Kanpur, Allahabad, Lucknow, Varanasi, Ghaziabad, Agra, Rampur
Uttarakhand                                                                            1 Dehradun
West Bengal                                                                    4 New Town Kolkata, Bidhannagar, Durgapur, Haldia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.