Delhi Daredevils Defeat Kings XI Punjab by 9 wickets

ArrayLed by pacer Nathan Coulter-Nile, Delhi Daredevils demolished Kings XI Punjab’s batting order before chasing down a paltry total with nine wickets in hand at the Ferozeshah Kotla to earn their fourth win from eight matches in the Indian Premier League (IPL) here on Friday.

A brilliant bowling performance, led by Coulter-Nile helped Daredevils restrict Kings XI Punjab to 118/8 in 20 overs. In reply, the hosts chased down the target in only 13.5 overs to rise to fourth spot in the eight-team league, where Kings XI still lie last.

Put in to bat, Kings XI were reduced to 10/4 by the fourth over as the visitors’ top-4 failed to click and got out for single-digits.

They were further tottering at 45/6 in the 10th over but South Africa’s David Miller (42) led a revival as he anchored the innings to help his side cross the 100-run mark. Miller’s 41-ball innings included four boundaries and a six.

Captain George Bailey (18) and Axar Patel (22) also made small contributions when all other batsman failed to reach double-digits.

Daredevils bowlers were on the spot today as Coulter-Nile picked up a fantastic 4/20 from his four overs. The Australian was given good backing by veteran Indian pacer Zaheer Khan, who returned to the playing XI with impressive figures of 4-0-17-2.

Captain JP Duminy and spinner Amit Mishra also picked up a wicket each for the hosts, who played the last match of the 2015 season here.

In reply, Daredevils hardly broke a sweat in chasing down the target with absolute ease. Openers Mayank Agarwal (52 not out) and Shreyas Iyer’s (54) struck half-centuries to guide their team home with the help of a 106-run opening wicket partnership.

Agarwal hit six boundaries and a six in his knock while Iyer, whose wicket was the only minor hiccup provided by Kings XI medio Thakur, smashed four boundaries and three sixes.

The following is the scoreboard of the Indian Premier League (IPL) clash between Kings XI Punjab and Delhi Daredevils played at the Ferozeshah Kotla here on Friday:

Kings XI Punjab —

Virender Sehwag c Mathews b Khan 1
Manan Vohra c Jadhav b Khan 1
Shaun Marsh lbw b Duminy 5
Wridhhiman Saha c Jadhav b Coulter-Nile 3
David Miller c Tiwary b Coulter-Nile 42
George Bailey lbw b Mishra 18
Thisara Perera c Tiwary b Coulter-Nile 3
Axar Patel c Agarwal b Coulter-Nile 22
Shardul Thakur not out 7
Anureet Singh not out 8
Extras (lb 1, w 7) 8
Total (eight wickets in 20 overs) 118

Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Sehwag, 0.2 overs), 2-6 (Marsh, 1.1), 3-10 (Vohra, 2.6), 4-10 (Saha, 3.3), 5-37 (Bailey, 7.6), 6-45 (Perera, 9.5), 7-102 (Patel, 18.1), 8-104 (Miller, 18.4)

Zaheer Khan 4-0-17-2
JP Duminy 4-0-15-1
Nathan Coulter-Nile 4-0-20-4
Amit Mishra 2-0-10-1
Angelo Mathews 3-0-19-0
Imran Tahir 3-0-36-0

Delhi Daredevils —

Mayank Agarwal not out 52
Shreyas Iyer c Patel b Thakur 54
Saurabh Tiwary not out 5
Extras (lb 2, w 5, nb 1) 8
Total (one wicket in 13.5 overs) 119

Fall of wickets: 1-106 (Iyer, 12.3 overs)

Sandeep Sharma 3-0-10-0
Shardul Thakur 3-0-38-1
Anureet Singh 3-0-24-0
Thisara Perera 2-0-22-0
Axar Patel 2.5-0-23-0


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.