Deborah wins fourth gold in Track Asia Cup

India ended their Track Asia Cup 2014 on a positive note, grabbing two gold medals on the concluding day of the event at the IG Stadium Complex Velodrome here Sunday.

Deborah won both the gold medals for her country – in the women’s elite keirin and sprint finals – for an overall individual tally of four gold medals from the championships.

India also grabbed four silvers, including the two they won Sunday, and added three more bronze medals to their tally to finish with a total of 18 medals (5 gold, 4 silver and 9 bronze).

Hong Kong topped the medal chart of the event dominating the endurance events.

Deborah took gold in the three-lap sprint finals ahead of compatriot Kezia, who took 0.060 and 0.518 seconds more than her. Kazakhstan’s Tatyana claimed bronze.

In the keirin finals, Deborah produced a fantastic display to win top spot. Kazakhstan’s Tatyana settled for silver, taking 0.010 seconds more than her while India’s Sonia Devi claimed bronze, taking 1.332 seconds more than the gold winner.

The men’s keirin gold went to Kazakhstan’s Pavel Vorzhev while Thailand’s Worayut and Satjakul finished behind the winner, taking fractions of seconds more. Amrjeet Singha and Gurpal Singh finished way behind at the sixth and eighth spot.

In men’s sprint, Indian Amarjeet Singh finished second, taking an extra 0.582 seconds while Pongthep Tapimay of Thailand had to be satisfied with the third spot. Kazakhstan’s Pavel Vorzhev claimed gold.

Prabhsiman Singh came second after Thailand’s Chakhree Khruthangkha in the three-lap men’s junior sprint finals. Hong Kong’s Maximillan Gil bagged bronze in the event.

Raj V.P. Sona won women’s junior sprint bronze behind gold-winning Sarinthip of Thailand and Hong Kong’s Wing Yee Leung. (IANS)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.