Congress Declares 15 Candidates for Jammu and Kashmir Poll

The Congress on Wednesday issued its first list of 15 candidates for the forthcoming assembly elections in Jammu and Kashmir.

The list released by Madhusudan Mistry, general secretary incharge of the party central election committee has fielded three sitting legislators and ministers in the state coalition government.

These are Nawang Rigzin Jora for the Leh seat in Ladakh region, Abdul Majeed Wani for the Doda seat and Viqar Rasool for the Bannihal seat, both in the Jammu region.

The party has also fielded sitting legislator G.M. Saroori for the Inderwal seat in the Kishtwar district of Jammu region.

For the Ramban reserved seat, Ashok Kumar Dogra has been fielded while Mohd Sharief Niaz has been fielded for the Bhaderwah seat, both in the Jammu region.

In the Valley, the party has fielded Faqir Mohammad Khan for Gurez, Usman Majeed for Bandipora, Imtiyiaz Parray for Sonawari, Aijaz Ahmad Sheikh for Kangan and Mohammad Yusuf Bhat for Ganderbal seat.

For the Kargil seat, Ashgar Karbalai, the CEO of the Kargil autonomous hill development council, has been fielded.

Ghulam Raza who lost the Lok Sabha elections as the Congress supported candidate from the Ladakh region, has been fielded for the Zanskar seat while Dildan Namgyal get the party mandate for the Nubra seat in the Ladakh region.

The Congress is fighting the assembly elections without any electoral alliance with the National Conference (NC), with which it ruled the state during the last six years.

(With inputs from IANS)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.