The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi laying the foundation stone of various projects in Goa on November 13, 2016. The Governor of Goa, Smt. Mridula Sinha, Union Minister for Defence, Shri Manohar Parrikar, Union Minister for Civil Aviation, Shri Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati and the Chief Minister of Goa, Shri Laxmikant Parsekar are also seen.

Clearance Given for 18 New Domestic and International Airports

As per the Greenfield Airports Policy- 2008, Ministry of Civil Aviation (MoCA) accords two stages clearances i.e. “site clearance” followed by “in-principle” approval for Greenfield airports.

MoCA has granted ‘in principle’ approval for setting up of 18 Greenfield Airports across the country. Out of these 18 airports, the airport project at Pakyong ( Rs. 553.53 cr approx.) in Sikkim belongs to Airports Authority of India.

The Airport projects at Navi Mumbai (Rs. 16704 cr approx.), Sindhudurg (Rs. 350 cr approx.), Shirdi (Rs. 320.54 cr approx. in Phase -I) in Maharashtra, Mopa (Rs. 3000 cr approx.) in Goa, Bijapur ( Rs.150 cr approx.), Gulbarga ( Rs. 13.78 cr approx. in phase-I), Hasan (Rs. 592.07 cr approx.) and Shimoga (Rs. 38.91 cr approx.) in Karnataka, Kannur (Rs. 1892 cr approx.) in Kerala, Kushinagar (Rs. 448 cr approx.) in Uttar Pradesh, Dholera (Rs. 1378 cr approx.) in Gujarat, Dagadarthi (Nellore) (Rs. 193.10 cr approx.), Bhogapuram (Vizianagaram) (Rs. 4502.03 cr approx.) and Oravakallu (Kurnool) ( Rs. 200.49 cr approx.) in Andhra Pradesh are proposed by the respective State Governments while the remaining three — airport project at Durgapur (Rs. 670 cr approx.), Gwalior (Rs. 200 cr approx.) and Karaikal (Rs. 170 cr approx.) are promoted by private developers. The airport projects at Durgapur and Kannur have been completed.

Between 2014 to 2016, MoCA has received the following proposals for setting up of Greenfield Airports: Ankleshwar in Gujarat and Bhiwadi in Rajasthan, Dagadarthi (Nellore), Bhogapuram (Vizianagaram), Tadepalligudem (West Godavari), Oravakallu (Kurnool) and Kuppam (Chittoor) in Andhra Pradesh, Chingleput near Chennai, Gwalior and Singrauli in Madhya Pradesh, Hisar in Haryana, Kothagudem (Khammam) in Telangana, Noida International Airport near Jewar and Saifai (Etawah) in Uttar Pradesh.

Out of the above proposals, Government of India has granted ‘in-principle’ approval to the projects at Bhogapuram, Tadepalligudem and Oravakallu in Andhra Pradesh and ‘site clearance’ to Government of Rajasthan for setting up of airport at Bhiwadi and Government of Telangana for setting up of airport at Kothagudem.

The Government of Goa has issued Letter of Award to the successful bidder for the new airport project at MoPA in Goa and foundation stone for the airport was laid on 13th November, 2016. The first phase of construction of the airport is likely to be completed in the year 2019.

This information was given by Minister of State for Civil Aviation Jayant Sinha in a written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.