Photo Credits: BBMP official website

Bengaluru Mayoral Poll: Congress Mayor, JD(S) Deputy Mayor, BJP Sidelined!

After winning the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) poll for the third time, the BJP is looking to retain the seat, but however congress again giving a tough competition as the seat may go to them.

The BJP won the majority of council seats in the 22 August BBMP elections with 100 seats out 198 in the civic body. The Congress won 76 seats, JD(S) 14 and others 8.

According to a report by The New Indian Express, “the Congress and JD(S) forging an alliance to upset BJP’s plan and to get control of the Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike Council even after the saffron party won a simple majority in the August 22 polls.”

They also added, “With the magic number to gain control over BBMP being 131, the Congress-JD(S) alliance claims to have a combined strength of 132, while the BJP says it has 128 to 130 members.”

Contending Candidates for the post of mayor and deputy mayor and complete schedule:

For the post of Mayor

Congress Councillors                                        From

Manjunath Reddy                                                    Madiwala
Uday Kumar                                                              Hagaduru
Shivaraj                                                                      Shankar Mutt
Gunashekar                                                               Jayamahal

BJP Councillors

Padmanabha Reddy                                                Kacharakanahalli ward
Nagaraju                                                                    Byrasandra ward
For the post of Deputy Mayor

For BJP Nagarthna Ramamurthy from Pattabhiramanagar ward.

For JD(S) Hemalatha Gopalaiah from Vrishabhavathinagar ward.

These names have been finalized.

Councillors will take oath between 12 noon and 1 pm, whereas regional election commissioner will initiate election process after 1 pm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.