BCCI President: Post-Jagmohan Dalmiya, All Eyes on Who Srinivasan Supports

BCCI President Jagmohan Dalmiya’s death will divert the focus on front runners for the post including probable aspirants such as Rajeev Shukla, some one from N.Srinivasan’s camp and another from Sharad Pawar camp

The BCCI constitution stipulates that in case of president’s post is vacated midway, the BCCI secretary shall, within a period of 15 days, convene a Special General Body Meeting (SGM) to elect the president, who shall be nominated by at least one full member from the zone, which proposed the name of the president whose term was cut short prematurely. Such a person, who is so elected, shall hold office till the next elections."

Since it was the east Zone which had proposed Dalmiya last time, the successor to Dalmiya will have to be nominated by an association from East Zone (Bengal, Tripura, Jharkhand, Assam, Orissa and National Cricket Club).

Congress leader Rajeev Shukla’s name is doing the rounds but he has to get support from eastern state. Otherwise, East Zone’s vice-president Gautam Roy is also one of the senior-most VP. He was first elected as vice-president at BCCI board’s Gwalior AGM in 1992 but he lacks enough backing the board.

The next Annual General Meeting willl decide whether N. Srinivasan or his rivals succeed to muster support for thier candidates in the election. Even Sharad Pawar group is likely to do the same since Pawar himself rejected that he was interested in it. "I have not decided on it. Basically I am not eager," he told media earlier.

But the Pawar group has Mumbai CA, Maharashtra CA, MPCA, Punjab CA and Vidarbha CA with them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.