Badminton: Gurusaidutt, Neha Pandit emerge winners

Gurusaidutt R of Petroleum Sports Promotion Board and Maharashtra’s Neha Pandit emerged the singles champions among men and women respectively in the Coal India National Senior ranking badminton tournament here on Saturday.

In the men’s final, Gurusaidutt overcame team-mate Sai Praneeth 18-21, 21-17, 21-16, while Pandit overcame Air India’s Reshma Karthik 21-17, 21-19 in the women’s title round.

The results:

Men’s singles (final): Gurusaidutt R (Petroleum) defeated Sai Praneeth B (Petroleum) 18-21, 21-17, 21-16. Semi-finals: Gurusaidutt defeated Anand Pawar (Air India) 21-9, 16-21, 21-12; Sai Praneeth defeated Ketan Chahal (Haryana) 17-21, 21-11, 21-10.

Women’s singles (final): 5-Neha Panti (Maharashtra) defeated 4-Reshma Karthik (Air India) 21-17, 21-19. Semi-finals: Reshma Karthik defeated Shikha Gautam (Karnataka) 21-18, 21-19; Neha Pandit defeated 6-Shriyanshi Pardeshi (Air India) 21-16, 21-13.

Men’s doubles (final): 4-Rupesh Kumar K (Petroleum)/Sanave Thomas (Kerala) defeated 6-Arun George (Kerala)/Nanda Gopal K. (AAI) 21-19, 13-21, 21-12.

Women’s doubles (final): 1-Meghana J (TS)/Maneesha K (TS) defeated 2-Dhanya Nair (Railways)/Mohita Sahdev (AAI) 21-9, 21-11.

Mixed doubles (final): 1-Sanyam Shukla (Air India)/ Maneesha K bt 2-Shlok Ramchandran (Air India)/ Meghana J (TS) 19-21, 21-16, 21-17.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.